Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by rocks3flowers, Feb 18, 2015.

1. rocks3flowers

rocks3flowers Out Of The Brooder

Feb 18, 2015
    Dartmouth Massachusetts
    I grew up on a farm and although we had chickens along with about every other farm animal. we only collected eggs in the hen house. they were wild for the most part. when I moved out I started a small fock of my own. wild ones from my farm turned out I didn't have a clue what I was doing the next spring all are hens went missing long story short we ended up with 60 baby chicks. they were so wild after a few years we desided to get rid of them all we kept are mated duck pair and lottery dumped the chickens at my family farm. now after reeding on how to have proper egg layers and all the care they need we are starting over. so yea I'm a newbie. we have ordered 25 chicks in the mail and I will be getting them the end of the week to sometime next week. a fav. of mine is the plymouth rock so we got a rock colecetion. I ordered white rocks buff rock and Plymouth rocks. 6 femails of each and a male. I have read every thing for the arrival home to the first 6 weeks of so. I have one major consern I got a male of each breed for breeding only. I don't want feral eggs. could I keep my 3 rosters together with there own area in the coop and the pen? my chickens are going to be duel purpose meat and eggs. on a side note I plan to hatch flower chickens from a local woman and that's the story behing my name rocks3flowers.

2. Ol Grey Mare

Ol Grey Mare One egg shy of a full carton. ..... Premium Member

Mar 9, 2014
    Oregon
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC!