Newborn chick can't stand after 24 hours but has tons of energy..

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by aapuzzo, Jun 16, 2016.

1. aapuzzo

aapuzzo Out Of The Brooder

Jun 16, 2016
    This is my first time hatching chickens and owning them. I decided to hatch my own flock and they are indoors in an extra bedroom right now.

I think it was able to walk the first few hours but I could be mistaken. It is as alert and strong as the others that are now running around. It is sitting on butt with legs out in front and a little to the sides. It's legs aren't paralyzed because they move fast like it is trying to run and it actually manages to move itself around. It can scoot itself forward and spin in circles. I tried helping it stand and it was able to for a minutes but was trembling, When it was standing the posture looked correct and not deformed. This chick is the biggest out of the group. Any ideas on what I should do?

Here is a URL to a video that should help.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/aapuzzo/shares/69838m

Thanks,
    Anthony

[​IMG]

2. FalconsNest

FalconsNest Just Hatched

Jun 16, 2016
    I really don't know what it could be. My favorite hen was like that as a chick, a little anyway at first but when I think of it I think it's because she didn't want to move. Maybe your chick is partially paralized? Keep up whatever you're doing, maybe it's legs are a little weak is all. Hopefully she/he will pull through

3. Choco Maran

Choco Maran Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 25, 2009
    Ribera New Mexico
    I do not know much about this but it might be spaddle legs ( I think that is what it is called). Hopefully someone with more information will know.

4. FalconsNest

FalconsNest Just Hatched

Jun 16, 2016
    Only chicks with Maran's Disease get spraddle legs... Did your chicks get the vaccine??

5. aapuzzo

Jun 16, 2016
    No vaccine. It was only a few hours.

6. azjustin

azjustin Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 1, 2016
    Tucson, AZ