1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Newborn chick question

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by animallvr, Dec 27, 2010.

1. animallvr

animallvr New Egg

Dec 27, 2010
    Hi...I am new at the whole chicken life. We have incubated our first batch of chicks which were due to hatch Christmas eve. We had one born Christmas Day and three more born the day after. Today we had another two born. The last one who was born only a few hours ago is acting funny. She keeps chirping and looking up before flopping backwards. When she is on her back you can see her struggling to turn back over but does after a bit. I had noticed tonight the older four picking on this one and have since removed them leaving this one and the other one born today in the incubator. I figured they were safe and warm in here. I am not sure if it is because she was just born and still working on getting strength or if there is problems. Just my others did not act like this. I am willing to try anything, I have the time and patience to devote, just looking for some advice. Please no negativity, we are new at this yes but we are doing this to give my kids the joy of raising their own. I do now problems arise and looking to do what ever we can do to help to prevent pain and discomfort while in the same time give her a chance to live a full and happy life.
    I have tried going threw archives but find I keep checking on her and loosing my page. thank you

2. LarryPQ

LarryPQ Easter Hatch!!

Jul 17, 2009
    You could try giving her some gatorade or sugar water. Some times the flip over thing is a result of dehydration and lack of electrolytes. She took a while to hatch- so she could be thirsty and her neurons may be misfiring.