NEWBY QUESTIONS

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by longranger, May 2, 2009.

1. longranger

longranger Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 23, 2009
    laguna hills CA
    I am a suburban farmer getting into chickens for the second time. First time, which was strictly for eggs, was stopped by unhappy neighbors. Now due to zoning and a larger property I can have lots of hens and even get away with a rooster or 2.

Now the questions. First I want to confirm my impression that most Roos including mixed purpose varieties and egglaying types are culled for eating at an age that extreme recipes are not needed?? Likewise with hens that have reached permanent henopause?? I ask these questions to help me feel good about my plans for flock management. Specificly I want to cull trouble makers and freeloaders for the freezer. Is that what most others do?? Yes I really am that green in flock management and the concept of using the birds as meat.

The second more general question is how to deal with fellow chicken lovers who appear to want to throw in a near free roo with every pullet or mature hen you purchase. I understand that some are great foundation birds for a new flock but don't the sellers have to assume that many or most will go to the freezer?? That being the case is it rude to say no to a young roo as part of a "package" purchase or let the seller know what his likely end would be??

Thanks for the shared wisdom.

Mike

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner True BYC Addict

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    I want to confirm my impression that most Roos including mixed purpose varieties and egglaying types are culled for eating at an age that extreme recipes are not needed??

Yes. Once they reach a certain size, the cost of feed per pound of weight gain really drops. And after a certain size weight gain is mostly fat and the meat just gets tougher. Eat them as friers or roasters.

Likewise with hens that have reached permanent henopause??