Newby saying HELLO!!!!!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Littlefaceza, Jan 12, 2018.

1. Littlefaceza

Littlefaceza Chirping

Jan 12, 2018
    Cape Town
    Hi Everyone
    My name is Dominique and I live in Cape Town, South Africa.
    I am completely new to keeping chickens as pets and would like as much as information as possible to make sure my new feathered children have happy healthy lives!
    We have numerous chickens at the yard where I stable my horse so this is where my new obsession started. I have fallen in love with a silkie chicken at the stables named buttercup! She is the cutest, fluffiest and friendliest little hen. she lets you pick her up and cuddle her all the time! My husband is currently building our chicken coop and we have a few chicks at the stables which (if there are hens) I will be taking 3 of them home once our coop is ready.
    I am very excited to be part of BYC and looking forward to reading all the articles etc.

Attached Files:

2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Flockless Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi Dominique and welcome to BYC - thanks for joining us.

Here’s a link to the Articles section - https://www.backyardchickens.com/articles/ There you’ll find lots of information on almost every aspect of keeping chickens - from coop building ideas, to incubating eggs.

There’s a link on the page above to the Learning Centre - it’s a great resource. If you have a specific topic in mind, just type it in the search box - there's a wealth of information on past and present threads.

Each week, various topics are discussed, which can also be a great resource - https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/topic-of-the-week-thread-archive

We have quite a few members from SA, so maybe say hello on this forum, in the hope that you link up with them - https://www.backyardchickens.com/forums/where-am-i-where-are-you.26/

All the best

Pork Pie

3. Littlefaceza

Littlefaceza Chirping

Jan 12, 2018