Newcomer Loving the Zen of Hen!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Downton Eggy, Jun 15, 2016.

1. Downton Eggy

Downton Eggy Out Of The Brooder

Jun 15, 2016
    Hello! My name is Susannah Charleson, and I am one of two proud owners of a new coop (as of March) and ten pullets. The coop/run we call 'Downton Eggy', and we had a lot of fun with it, using reclaimed stained glass, a Victorian screen door, that kind of thing. The chooks have their own private fenced backyard to free range and a long run for inclement weather, etc. Because they are new to us, we have not let them free range much yet--trying to learn their ways and get them used to cues that it's time to return to the run/coop. (I'm a dog trainer, so we're having fun using clickers and verbal cues. Hoping to teach them a chicken dance.)

We have:
    Two Silkies (Lady Mary and Lady Eat-It)
    Four Seramas (Mrs. Peckmore, Daisy, Mrs. Hughes, Anna Bates)
    Two Polish (Lady May, Miss Towler)
    One Barnevelder (Mrs. Bk-Bk-BkCrawley)
    One Swedish Flower (The Dowager Countess, Lady Violet)