Newcomer with a duck question

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by redsoxs, Jul 19, 2011.

1. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Let me apologize in advance for what I'm about to ask. I'm pretty new to the poultry game and that's been chickens. I know squat about ducks. But reading a lot of these posts has me interested. My very amateurish questions are: do you have to keep ducks away from chickens? How much space do ducks need (my chickens free range, can ducks do this?) Will they stick close to the farm or are they wanderers? Maybe if there is a good link you can direct me there. Again, sorry for the newbie questions.

2. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    [​IMG]

All reasonable questions. No apologies necessary.

Some keep ducks and chickens together - you just need to remember ducks are a little different. They nest on the ground, so don't put them under the roost where they'll get dropped on. They cannot be as neat with water, so separate duck and chicken waterers are needed.

At least 25 sf per duck is a good idea - more is better. Some people let their ducks roam, but they are quite susceptible to predators. Mine plan in the gardens, but while I am nearby. When I am not, they spend time in the 10'x16' day pen attached to their 64sf house and porch. At night, they are in the house/porch with electric fence on.

If you raise them from day-olds they will most likely stay nearby, older ducks sometimes try to go "home" from the new place.

Ducks need water they can bathe in, and you need to plan for their swimming area - slight slope, well drained, no really, it needs to be well drained, with pea gravel around it (a few inches in depth at least). They don't need a pond, a kiddie pool will do but they need to be able to easily get in and out of it, and ducklings ought never be left in swimming water unattended.