"Newer" Member

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by carldaugh, Jun 13, 2016.

1. carldaugh

carldaugh Just Hatched

May 14, 2016
    Holopaw, Florida
    Hello BYC Community,

While I'm not a "brand new" BYC member I am fairly new to our flock of 20. 16 chicks, & 4 adults. I had raised chickens while i was a child, a long time ago, it seems. We had 150-200 in a huge "chicken house" on our small 3 acre farm in PA. We now live in Florida and just recently got onto a property sufficient for livestock. Our family decided to start with chickens. As mentioned we have 20 total. The adults are 1 Leghorn (so I've been told, see my avatar), 2 RIR hens, & 1 silkie. The chicks (now 3 months old) are 7 Golden Comets, 4 White Leghorns, 5 RIR's,
    We discovered BYC doing a search google online, in which we had a few questions and BYC page was linked with the question we were asking. My daughter, although grown, is enjoying these chicks more than anyone else, they are great therapy for her. She is having several health issues which keep her from working. The chickens keep her enjoying life, and not "focusing" on her health issues. My wife, calls to "Leghorn" (My avatar) every morning from the back porch and, as if, on demand, he gives his "good-morning" crow. We have, since joining BYC, asked and even answered (where we have some experience) several posts. I do have one question though.... below my login name there is a "title" of "New Egg".... When do we "graduate" to each level as I've seen others that seem to maybe be associated with their experience or time on BYC?

2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

Aww...your Rooster sounds adorable!! Pretty too! We kept Leghorns when I was growing up too. Mostly for meat and eggs. Now I raise them for eggs and entertainment. LOL