newly hatched chick can't stand

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by elaineavt, May 29, 2011.

1. elaineavt

elaineavt New Egg

May 29, 2011
    Help!
    I have a chick that hatched about 10 hours ago. From the get-go, the chick has been unable to stand. It lies on its side and holds one leg up near its head. It scrambles around on its back or side, but I've not seen it stable on its feet. I've just moved it to a shoebox in the brooder so that the others won't peck at it. It is fluffed out and looks okay except for the way it lies on its side and holds its legs. This is my first time hatching out chicks (since I was a kid) so I could use some advice.
    Thanks.

2. sheila3935

sheila3935 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2010
    Stonington, illinois
    give it some time and put electrolyte/vitamin in its water. Try dribbling some along its beak. I had a bantam cochin that I hatched that took 3 days to walk. He is fine now.

3. elaineavt

elaineavt New Egg

May 29, 2011
    Thank you for the advice. How much liquid should I try to get the chick to drink? A few drops? More? And how often would you suggest I do this?

4. ScissorChick

ScissorChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 17, 2010
    Under Your bed
    [​IMG]

If he just hatched, this is actually normal. They flop around like fish at first.

You can put a tiny pinch of electrolytes, or three table spoons of sugar

in about a quart of water, and dip his beak in the water once every

30 minutes - 1 hour. Keep us updated!

Last edited: May 29, 2011
  5. Silkie Sue

Silkie Sue Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 23, 2007
    Sarnia, Ontario
    Good luck with the little fuzzybutt... i hope she figures it out soon [​IMG]

6. elaineavt

elaineavt New Egg

May 29, 2011