newly hatched chick seems a bit wobbly?????

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by daniellenoel, May 13, 2010.

1. daniellenoel

daniellenoel Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 22, 2009
    Vail Colorado
    he hatched this afternoon and seems a bit "wobbly"
    he is holding his head up pretty well just seems a bit off balance. Is this normal??
    I am very new at this and he is the first one to hatch.. we are on day 23 today. no others have hatched.. some eggs moving a little but no more hatches. don't have a good feeling about the rest.. poor little guy he is all alone...[​IMG]
    humidity and temp have been good the whole time...
    humidity was a little lower the 1st day of lockdown.. 58% but got it back to 65%
    any suggestions?????

2. chickee

chickee Chillin' With My Peeps

Sounds like maybe your humidity was a bit high during incubation. This is only a guess, because I had a batch hatch like this and that is what I thought happened with mine. I found out later that my digital hygrometer was reading way wrong! [​IMG] Recently I read that if it doesn't have a fresh battery this can happen. The 4 chicks that did hatch looked too heavy and wet and didn't stand for quite awhile and one kept falling on its back and couldn't get up. I had to help it back on its feet several times, but after a day it was fine and is a beautiful 4 month old BLGW pullet! [​IMG] So don't worry, your chick will be fine! and it is a good sign that you have eggs moving!! Hang in there and don't open the incubator. Sometimes chicks can hatch up until day 25! Your chick will be fine in there for another day. GOOD LUCK! [​IMG]

3. Barry Natchitoches

Barry Natchitoches Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 4, 2008
    Tennessee
    I had a broody hen hatch two chicks last December, and one of them was wobbley just like you described. That lasted for about a day or two, then he gradually gained strength and balance.