NEWS ABOUT SHIPPING EGGS

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by LTygress, Mar 7, 2014.

1. LTygress

LTygress Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 12, 2012
    I actually work part-time for the postal service as a rural carrier associate (aka substitute driver). So it kinda bites to hear the negative comments about the USPS and how they handle packages. But at the same time, I know it's true. In the past two weeks alone, I've received eggs that were delayed during shipment and arrived later than they were supposed to (but they were sent priority which is NOT a time-based service, no matter what it says the expected delivery date is), AND had detached air cells.

I'm still pretty new to the postal service (two months) but I've been dealing with poultry for several years. So I called everyone in my office together and asked: If you see a box that says "fragile, hatching eggs" what should you NOT do with it?

Everyone answered that you shouldn't drop it. Well, duh. I asked why, and the answer was the same - the eggs might break. I asked if they thought it was okay to X-ray it (which is done regularly since 9/11), shake it, slide it across a warehouse-type floor (think: smooth, shiny concrete), etc.

GUESS WHERE THE FAILURE WAS? Everyone, yes every last person there, thought it would cause no harm to shake a box with hatching eggs. They actually thought it might be useful to find out if the eggs were cracked - like they were broken glasses or something!

But I knew better. Shaking and rough handling is mostly HOW the air cells become detached. I did explain to everyone in my office why they shouldn't shake hatching eggs. And BY PURE CHANCE I happened to receive goose eggs through there with detached air cells, and they were there with me in the office when I asked this of everyone. So I actually SHOWED them what the shaking did, and candled the eggs where they could see the moving air cells!