Next steps after Hawk attack?

ufoundwaldo

In the Brooder
8 Years
May 14, 2011
Hi,

I am new to all this and had my first successful hawk attack Tuesday. It took my prettiest hen. I like to free range my chickens in my backyard even when I am not home. The hawk has come back several times looking for another meal, so I have my chickens on lock down in their coop and run. I don't want to keep them in all the time though. Any suggestions of how I should proceed to discourage the hawk as much as possible? I don't want it to think my backyard is a grocery store.

Thank you

What is makeup of flock? now 5; 2 7.5 week Australorps, 2 11 week Sex-linked mixed and 1 11 week rooster-easter egger

Acreage? 2 arces, but with only about .5 they normally range on

Plants or other potential cover? quite a bit of trees, shrubs and other green stuff with patches of open spaces. All the others were hiding in the center island of trees and scrubs after the attavk

Do you have a dog? yes a very sweet choc lab who is great with the chickens, but is a house dog and will only stay outside if I am outside with her.

Neighbors? yes, but you can't see any from my backyard where the chickens free-range

Hawk species? Big-Ole black and white one. Not sure offical species never quite thought about them before. I have also seen a red one around.

It would be helpful to know in what general area you live. Hawks migrate through different parts of the country at different times.

Once your roo gets older he will help protect your girls. Many roos will put themselves between the hawk and the hens, giving them more time to run for cover.......the roo sometimes gives his life to protect his flock.