NH Reds....Flighty

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by 3rocksandme, Aug 11, 2010.

1. 3rocksandme

3rocksandme Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 23, 2010
    Brookline, NH
    Good morning! I have found the advice on here to be excellent and I am still new to chicken raising so I have a lot of questions.

I have a group of 3 week old chicks in the brooder, NH Reds and EEs. The NH Reds seem to have sort of a nasty temperament. They peck, a lot. I put my hands in the brooder to put in new food, etc and there are several that go after my hand. They also squawk and run around the brooder like I am going to attack them or something.

Does anyone have any experience with this breed? Is this normal chick behavior? Will they settle down?

Our older chickens are barred rocks and they were not like that at all as babies.

2. incubatingisfun

incubatingisfun Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 15, 2009
    Alaska
    They possess a deep, broad body, grow feathers very rapidly, are prone to go broody and make good mothers. Most pin feathers are a reddish buff in color and, therefore, do not detract from the carcass appearance very much. The color is a medium to light red and often fades in the sunshine. The comb is single and medium to large in size; in the females it often lops over a bit. These good, medium-sized meat chickens have fair egg-laying ability. Some strains lay eggs of a dark brown shell color. New Hampshires are competitive and aggressive. They were initially used in the Chicken of Tomorrow contests, which led the way for the modern broiler industry.

3. 3rocksandme

Jul 23, 2010
    Brookline, NH
    Thank you! I saw that but I guess since also saw:

Breed Temperament:

Friendly,Easily handled,Bears confinement well,Noisy,Docile

in the same description that they would well, more docile.

4. incubatingisfun

incubatingisfun Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 15, 2009
    Alaska
    i had a similar expeirience with leghorns.

5. turtlebird