Nicotine Studies

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by punk-a-doodle, Nov 12, 2011.

1. punk-a-doodle

punk-a-doodle Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2011
    I work in a lab type setting, and we occasionally have the opportunity to attend talks given by PIs (primary investigators, ie. the PhDs who run studies). While I see nicotine studies going on (well, just one lab), I wasn't really sure what they were about. I have had a lot more access to other study types, and was kind of in the dark about those. The talk was really enlightening. This particular lab studied a wide diversity of issues. While the negative health effects of smoking are known, the PI went on to explain that nicotine can actually improve memory, keep receptors active and healthy especially into old age, stave off the effects of Alzheimers by about eight years in heavy smokers (and it's pretty well known about protection from Parkinsons), help in some cases of schizophrenia with memory and attention, and help some cases of joint pain (while it worsens others). And probably a few other things I have forgotten. So, they look at these receptors and pathways in the brain to help figure out the various links, which has obvious potential for future health benefits and better understanding of the brain and disease. Pretty neat stuff. There were also a series of slides showing what nicotine causes birth defect wise in lab animals (and humans). The mice ended up having the same wrinkled skin, structural deformities (ie. exposed spines and organs that develop outside of the body), and SIDs that are seen in human babies. They also found that in certain areas (ie. Finland) where a lot of fish is consumed, the deformities were much less severe, and development was far more normal. They isolated the responsible protein or whatever it was from fish (someone was talking in my ear during that part XD), and injected it into the pregnant mice, and the issues such as exposed spines stopped or lessened dramatical