Nigerian Dwarf Goat Kidding Question

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by byrandom, Jan 17, 2009.

1. byrandom

byrandom Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 22, 2008
    Terrell, TX
    I have several NDGs. This is my first time with any of them kidding. Two of my does have head heavy discharge and several of the other "signs" that I have read online. However, it has been more than 24 hours since the discharge .. and no Kids! Everywhere I read online states that they will kid within 8 hours of the discharge. They are both still very dialated, bunked down in the barn, and heavy breathing.

They are eating, walking, no distress -- however they are not progressing into full blown labor..

Thanks guys!

2. Indiana hens

Indiana hens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 25, 2008
    Pendleton, Indiana
    Discharge can differ. Any sign of pushing yet? Hope you have small hands in case you need to turn. They are tight in there if you need to find a leg or head do it at the very start of exiting. We found a head and front foot means we are pulling them out(by the nape and leg). Eat before; you may be there awhile. OB gel, scissors,floss, and iodine, towels. If the head and both feet are sticking out remove the membrane away from the face to allow drainage from nose.

Last edited: Jan 17, 2009
  3. abluechipstock

abluechipstock Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 13, 2009
    fort ashby, wv
    good luck, i'll be in your shoes in march, i have 8 does pregnant, preparation is essential, you lose a lot less kids by being prepared, anyway hope you have an uneventful kidding:)

4. abluechipstock

abluechipstock Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 13, 2009
    fort ashby, wv
    i know last year i thought they were going to have babies several different times because of "the signs", i was wrong each time, then they popped them out when i wasn't looking:/

5. griffin45

griffin45 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 15, 2008
    South Central Virgina