nighttime feeding and watering

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by klmclain1, Mar 14, 2011.

1. klmclain1

klmclain1 Songster

Mar 14, 2011
    I'm new at this... my chickens (5 black australorps and 3 white leghorns) are now 7 weeks old and we've moved them into a chicken tractor we just built so they have more room to run around [​IMG]. I've set up large water bottles (the kind with the nozzle and metal ball) and a hanging feeder in the outside part of the tractor, but I don't know if I'm supposed to provide food and water for them all night inside the coop too? If so, suggestions for waterers are needed as they knock over the traditional bottles with bowls under them. Thanks a bunch!! [​IMG]

2. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

Chicken roost at night and without artificial light aren't active, so no, you don't need to provide them with food and water at night.

3. klmclain1

klmclain1 Songster

Mar 14, 2011
    Thank you Katy! I appreciate the info!!

4. ShelleyN

ShelleyN Chirping

Mar 15, 2011
    Denver, CO
    What if you are keeping a light on at night to help egg production in the winter?

5. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

Quote:I don't give them artificial lights ever. I prefer to let mother nature guide when they lay. I like to let them have their natural time off from laying.

6. CCourson05

CCourson05 Popping like kettle corn...

Jan 5, 2011
    Hickory Flat, MS
    But if you have a light, I would be sure they have food and water at all times.

7. gmendoza

gmendoza Songster

Mar 23, 2010
    Rock Hill,SC
    I have to provide food and water at night.The wife cannot go into the coop with the roosters,so I do it when I get home in the evening.Also I have extra coturnix quail in there cleaning the ground in the run,and they are chirping at me to feed them when I get in. [​IMG]

8. HLAC

HLAC Songster

Aug 24, 2009
    Central Utah