1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

nipple waterers

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Dubb, Jul 7, 2011.

1. Dubb

Dubb New Egg

Jun 4, 2011
    What do yall think about the nipple waterers and can you describe how you made yours . Where can I buy the nipples ?I am new to chicken raising and can use any imput you can provide. Thanks [​IMG]

2. BellevueOmlet

BellevueOmlet Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2010
    I like the nipples but I prefer the waterer cups because it leaves a cup of water for the chickens to drink from. Both are much better than standard waterers.

3. chfite

chfite Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 7, 2011
    Taylors, SC
    I like my nipple waterer. I took a piece of 3/4 inch PVC pipe and drilled two holes in a piece 3 feet long about two feet apart. I put one nipple in each hole. I installed a faucet on one end to be able to drain it. I put a hose coupling on the other end and connected it to a length of hose that connects to a bucket for holding the water. It is installed in a bracket about 12 inches above the ground under the coop. The chickens figured it out without any help from me. It seems to adequately serve 6 chickens.

Chris

4. Opa

Opa Opa-wan Chickenobi

May 11, 2008
    Howell Michigan
  5. southerndesert

southerndesert B & M Chicken Ranch

Jun 17, 2011
    Morristown, AZ
    Yup use them and the birds like them as well, mine are made out of buckets (plastic)

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Easy to keep clean only problem I had was they would not use it until I removed the old water containers, but they then had it down in minutes. We have since put the dishpans back in and they still u8se mainly the buckets with nipples.

6. debid

debid Overrun With Chickens

Jan 20, 2011
    middle TN