No cost coop from recycled materials

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by henmother921, Apr 9, 2017.

1. henmother921

henmother921 Just Hatched

Mar 29, 2017
    Canyon City Oregon
    I'm a newbie to the chicken raising family. I am about 5 weeks in and every week is a new experience. I have been around chickens throughout my life but I have never had my own. So now is my chance. I finally decided to take the chicken plunge. It all started out with a talk with my husband about wanting to get chickens. He was not really agreeable at first but he finally came around. Then one day I went shopping with my mom and there just happen to be baby chickens. I HAD to get some. I was fully UN prepared for them at the time. No coop, no nothing but a galvanized steel tub for them to run around in. Luckily I have a husband who works in the glass business so he brought home a windshield box (which is huge) that we made into a brooder for my 8 little ladies. (who were 2 weeks old at the time) I was almost panicking about not having a coop. So my quest began. My husband had brought home a couple very large wood glass crates so I decided to use those for the start of my project. [​IMG]

I hollowed them out and placed them facing each other with a little space between them to make the coop a little larger. I was very fortunate to have all I needed from home remodeling to make this coop. It is a small coop but should have plenty of room for my 8 little ladies. If not, I will be sure to expand later.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Walls, floors and ceiling were insulated with a thick Styrofoam that had come in the glass crates which saved me some money.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Most wood was from an old closet that was on my front porch when I bought my home. The roof was made with the old closet doors. [​IMG]

[​IMG]