1. Come check out hundreds of awesome coop pages (and a few that need suggestions) in our 2018 Coop Rating Project!

No egg

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by stephen k, Jan 5, 2014.

1. stephen k

stephen k In the Brooder

Dec 21, 2013
    Ireland
    Hello I'm new to backyard chickens an me and my gf haven't had an egg in 3 months.were from Ireland so the weather is always terrible so we try to keep the coop well heated!we hav 12 hens and 2 roosters and 4 ducks!they all get on wel and get plenty of food,clean water and the chance to toms around our garden at there own leisure.has any1 any ideas on what we could do.any help is appreciated [​IMG]

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Hello, Stephen, welcome to BYC. Any chance they might have hidden nests somewhere in the yard? Rest assured that they will start laying as the days lengthen. Day light 'sparks' their hormonal system.

3. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    [​IMG] to BYC!

This time of year, with the lack of daylight hours, it can turn off the hormones of birds and stop the laying. Molting also plays a part in the lack of eggs, since molting takes up needed protein for feathers instead of eggs. Some chickens will continue to lay throughout the winter, although usually infrequently. And some can be coaxed into laying by adding more light to their environment. Optimumly, they need 14 to 16 hours of daylight to continue to lay. So some people will turn on the coop light a couple hours before sun up, leave it off during the day, and then leave it on a few hours after sunset. This can stimulate the laying. Never leave the light on for 24 hours.

Great to have you aboard and enjoy BYC!

Last edited: Jan 5, 2014
  4. Makomd

Makomd Songster

Jul 24, 2011
    ES of MD , USA