No eggs for over 2 months

LisaC63

In the Brooder
Nov 27, 2020
Hi everyone 😊 I'm brand new to BYC. I've been raising chickens for about 5 years now. I have 18 hens that have been actively laying up until 2 months ago. I haven't had any eggs since. Just wondering what the issue may be. They're done molting, I've treated them for mites ( just in case) and made sure they've been eating really well. I'm stumped.

What breeds? The daylight hours are so short that many birds (unless they’re first year layers) take a break at this point. We have noticed a steady decrease and only have a silkie laying regularly at this point.

If they are healthy (and no one is an egg eater) there is only two things to do: let them be and they will start laying when the days get longer OR supplement some light to start the laying again. I don’t do the latter as I like to give them a break, but it’s not uncommon for people to do this to get them laying right out of molt.

What breeds? The daylight hours are so short that many birds (unless they’re first year layers) take a break at this point. We have noticed a steady decrease and only have a silkie laying regularly at this point.

If they are healthy (and no one is an egg eater) there is only two things to do: let them be and they will start laying when the days get longer OR supplement some light to start the laying again. I don’t do the latter as I like to give them a break, but it’s not uncommon for people to do this to get them laying right out of molt.
I would have thought that too except OP said none at all in 2 months.. I mean that's weird isn't it? Ours are still laying and I'm up north. I almost wonder if they're free range if they didn't find a place to lay, you hear of that happening fairly often. I guess they could have all just stopped though..