No Eggs from quail

beakmaster

Chirping
7 Years
Jan 3, 2013
Panama City, Florida
I have 10 females and 2 males. Not sure of the breeds but all are brown except 2 female that are like the white. The 2 white females are laying one and possibly 2 eggs a day but the rest of my quail refuse to lay. They are all around 8 weeks. The light hours have only been extended by an outside house light that is 15 ft or more away from the cages.... could that be the issue with the non layers? It is not a real bright light. The males have been attacking and scalpin

g the females but I have only seen them mount the white females. I am new to birding so any help would be welcome, Thanks.

I had and still have the same problem... First check if you in fact have 2 males and 10 females. Are they crowing yet?

Having that much light is good... The one other thing is; when was the last time you moved them or their cage? Did they grow up in this cage, or did you buy them and put them in there recently. Coturnix are very sensitive to moves, and may cease laying for 2-4 weeks after having moved.

Good luck with your quail! They are beautiful.

Quail are also a bit territorial.... if they aren't raised together they will spend a lot of their time fighting and picking on each other. Good luck!

yeah, the males are crowing and I have foam sexed them. I did have 5 males to 7 females in 1 pen but I ate 3 to bring the ratio to 1 males to every 3.5 females. I have 4 in another pen that are hopefully gonna make eating eggs. Yes, I did buy this group at 5 weeks, about 4 weeks ago.... maybe thats it. I also have moved their pen around the yard.

They have been in the same 2 pen since I got them. They have live together from birth as far as I know. Today I got 4 eggs so I think at least one or 2 of the brown quail may be laying, unless they other ones are laying 2 a day.

Last edited: