No Eggs Large hen crowing HELP needed!!!!!

Liampwrr

Hatching
7 Years
Mar 21, 2012
Lowestoft, England
Hi im new to this and have had my hens for 14 weeks. My large hen looks like she would be ready to lay but everyday i make the trip to the end of the garden only to be dissapointed! She has recently started crowing which has made me rethink her sex but doing a bit of research tells me this is possible? I brought the chickens from a farm and they told me they were French morans but im not really clued up on breeds. I will post pictures at the end of this thread but wanted some information on the best way to get eggs from my girls and mabey stop the large one crowing. Although eggs isnt a real problem as they are more like pets to us because the kids love them it would be a nice bonus eating fresh eggs!

If anyone could help i would be really grateful

(before you say it i know the smallest hen is quite far from laying!)

Thanks

Liam

Sorry to break it to you, but that's a cockerel.

The good news, the two standing behind him are definitely girls!

If those are Marans, I've not seen that color yet. But the tail is all wrong, almost Cochin-esque without the feathered feet. Almost an English Orpington structure.

How old were the chickens when you bought them? Laying age hens, will squat for the rooster (or you) where they hunker down and spread their wings. A couple of days before laying, they will really fill out in the fluffy tush, you'll notice the drop if you watch. The comb and wattles will brighten to red, though not near the amount of the boy.

You can't make them lay. Average age would be around 24 weeks. Be sure they're getting a good layer feed. Fresh water. As much sun as possible.

You also can't make the boy stop crowing, unless you move him on to someone else so that you can't hear him anymore. Since he's been raised a pet, I'd imagine dumplings would be out of the question.

Last edited: