NO EGGS?? Please help....Texas A&M

Discussion in 'Quail' started by RedBrush Farm, Jun 29, 2011.

1. RedBrush Farm

RedBrush Farm Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 12, 2011
    Missouri
    I am new to quail/chicken/turkey/pheasant/chukar/rabbit/duck raising. This is my first try. (I got carried away when spring hit - wanted to see what I liked best) But my question is in relation to the Texas A&M Quail. I have 30 that are at least 10 weeks old but none are laying eggs. I started them with game bird starter moved up to game bird grower and they look fat and sassy. They have a constant supply of fresh water. (thanks to a cool watering system my husband dreamed up - can send pict. of system if interested) I have dusting boxes in each cage and add/change as needed. The cages are 3.5 feet x 3 feet and I have them divided among three cages. I have more than one male in each cage and know I will need to separate them soon but shouldn't I be getting EGGS???[​IMG]

2. La Mike

La Mike (Always Slightly Off)

Nov 20, 2009
    louisiana
    Not necessarily they are still young but you should be getting some soon [​IMG]

3. lebedkat

lebedkat Out Of The Brooder

Jun 26, 2011
    Post the pics of the water supply.... please... We will be building the coop, cages and so on...

4. RedBrush Farm

Jun 12, 2011
    Missouri
    Thanks for the input![​IMG] I have read so much information on the web that I feel shell shocked... I thought that they would lay at about 5 weeks. We are in MO and the weather has been pretty hot lately so I thought that they may be too hot. We placed a window fan in the barn and a "Whirly Thing" on top to pull some of the hot air out. I guess I am just impatient.[​IMG]

5. RedBrush Farm

Jun 12, 2011
    Missouri
    I will take pict. of the water system this evening and post tomorrow. It never ceases to amaze me at the things my husband can come up.[​IMG]

6. lebedkat

lebedkat Out Of The Brooder

Jun 26, 2011