no electricity or water in coop area

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Zigapor, Sep 12, 2012.

1. Zigapor

Zigapor Out Of The Brooder

Sep 9, 2012
    ON
    so I am new to this whole chicken thing, haven't yet gotten birds, or even converted the old shed into the coop, lol

I do have a big concern though. The coop won't have electricity, and I have no way of getting it there. It won't have running water either (although that one doesn't worry me as much) The problem is we live where it gets crazy cold in winter and I am concerned my chickens will freeze. The coop will be made from an old shed that has a concrete wall and three wood walls. I plan on insulating it as well as possible, and raising the floor on skids to keep it warmer.

How can I ensure my chickens are warm enough without having a way to heat them electrically. I had considered a small solar panel for powering a small heater, would that be sufficient?
    [​IMG]

this will be my bird house :)

also... it has two doors at the front, but no windows (yet). When I cut the windows out of the door, as well as their own little entrance, how would I go about making sure the cold doesn't come in through the windows and door?

am I worrying too much about this cold situation? can chickens handle canadian winters? we do get a handful of days where it drops to -40C with the wind, although wind won't be a factor in the coop... but i assume it'll still get super cold in there at night without a heat source :/

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Chickens carry their own insulation with them. Provide a clean, dry, well ventilated yet draft free coop, adequate feed and water and they will be fine. A lot does depend upon the breed of chicken that you have. With Mediterranean breeds and large combed roosters of other breeds there is a possibility of their combs and wattles freezing.

3. milo1108

milo1108 Chillin' With My Peeps