No health care? Expect a requirement to get it

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by pdsavage, Jun 22, 2009.

1. pdsavage

pdsavage Sussex Monarch

Mar 27, 2008
    NW,Missouri
  2. hikerchick

hikerchick Songster

Apr 6, 2009
    Dover, PA
    I don't see anything wrong with people having to take responsibility for their own healthcare. The uninsured have been a burden on the insured and the taxpayers for too long. It's time for people to put on their big boy pants and pay for their medical care like the rest of us have to.

3. ChicknJ

ChicknJ Songster

Jul 7, 2008
    Central Florida
    Something has to be done, this is a starting point for discussion, not the insurance panacea for all. What we currently have is not working so why not here?

With all respect, do you have a better idea?

I can say honestly, I pay a huge amount for insurance for my husband, myself and our 10 yr old. I am a nurse in a large hospital but I still pay almost 7000 a yr in health insurance. If I were to drop my coverage it would be a huge raise for me, but what if something catostrophic happened? I know what would happen. My insurance would cover only a fraction of a catostrophic illness and I would be in jeopardy of losing my farm and way of life.

I am extremely frustrated with what I see on a daily basis. If I have a Rx to fill, I have 3 pharmacies in this entire county I can use, but if you have medicaid... you can go anywhere?

It seems as if health care cost is carried by people like me. I understand you may not go to a Dr. frequently, but if you needed to, they are there. I bless you for your health.

These two following excerpts are a beginning, I applaud opening a dialect to address these issues. Something HAS to be done.

""I am open to a system where every American bears responsibility for owning health insurance, so long as we provide a hardship waiver for those who still can't afford it."