Nobody proofreads, anymore!

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by ruralchild, Mar 11, 2015.

1. ruralchild

ruralchild Out Of The Brooder

Feb 19, 2015
    Our local newspaper is always full of typos, misspellings, lousy grammar, sentence structure that doesn't make any sense, and other errors. They misspell people's names -- even names of people they know. A story on page one will end in the middle of a sentence, with a continuation line at the bottom directing you to the page where it supposedly resumes. You get to that page and the rest of the story isn't there.

I used to work as a typesetter for a large newspaper publisher and printing house. We had a proofreading department that went over all the galleys with a fine-toothed comb, marked the errors they found, and sent them back to typesetters to correct. Only when error-free did the galleys go on to paste-up. That was before desktop publishing took hold.

Today, it seems, very few people bother to proofread or edit. The newspaper staff in our town seems to take little pride in its work. I once offered my services as a proofreader, and they blew me off.

Even expensive hardcover books have mistakes in them that never would have appeared years ago!

My surname ends in a silent w. When it's pronounced, all anyone hears is the "o". When I write it out or spell it verbally, I always include the w. Yet, it's constantly getting misspelled, even when they know it has a w! If I dare correct them, they get offended.

Is this just laziness? Or indifference? I don't know about the rest of you, but I want my name spelled correctly, especially after I inform the writer how to spell it.

People just don't care, anymore!

End of rant.

Last edited: Mar 11, 2015
  2. 3goodeggs

3goodeggs pays attention sporadically

May 22, 2009
    North Central Florida
    Yes. We have gotten lazy.
    I am too lazy to go get my glasses, and I and mistype or misspell things, I hit periods when I mean to hit commas.