1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Noisy 4 month old Hens

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by arminius, Aug 28, 2016.

1. arminius

arminius Out Of The Brooder

Apr 7, 2016
    I'm new to raising hens and have 4 healthy hens born on May 1st. I now feed them layer feed and fresh water each day. Most days I also give them treats of either bread crumbs or egg yokes. The neighbors mentions to me they were noisy and I didn't believe it until I had my windows open last night and I heard the sqauking. I brought out bread and they didn't even want it and kept squaking.

I had to force them into their coop and shut the door. Then they were quiet. It was close to dusk if that makes a difference. Normally about that time they go into the coop on their own. I also let them out of their coop for at least 2 hours a day. The only time I've heard them sqauk like that is when they are out of food or water.

Thoughts and how I can make them happy and quieter?

2. TheTwoRoos

TheTwoRoos Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 25, 2015
    Give the something to do.My pullets are this age and a are noisy at this same exact time too!I think it's practice for the egg callnot sure...

3. aart

aart Chicken Juggler! Premium Member

Nov 27, 2012
    SW Michigan
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC!

Don't bring treats when chickens are noisy....you'll 'train' them to be even noisier.

Maybe something, a predator, spooked them?
    Did it just happen one time or every night?
    Chickens can do quite a bit of vocalizing at roost time.

At 4 months they are not near lay, another couple months....and shouldn't be eating layer feed.

4. TheTwoRoos

TheTwoRoos Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 25, 2015