Noob seeks advice: Rebuild or replace?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by hungry, Mar 10, 2013.

1. hungry

hungry Out Of The Brooder

Mar 8, 2013
    Grayson County, Texas
    Hi all. First off, I have zero experience with chickens but am quite interested.

So here's the story: I just moved into a house that happens to have an old chicken coop. Actually there is a 110x200 foot paddock that looks like it was set up for a horse or other larger animal.

On one side of the paddock, along a property line, is a 15x60 area fenced with 60" high 4x2" hardware cloth, barbed wire every foot, and corrugated steel at the base. The coop is inside that yard. The building is is 10x6, about 15 feet from one end, narrow side up against the property line/fence. That end us further fenced to create a 15x15 yard within a yard. The coop itself takes up about half the building...you go in a standard door to stand in a 5x6 "room" with a small door in the dividing wall. Open that door and you are looking into the coop where there is roost space and three nesting boxes on the far wall.

On the good side, you have a choice of leaving the chickens in the small yard, giving them the run of the 15x60 space, or letting them into the full paddock I guess.

Even better, it is all basically intact. The gates all need to be replaced, the fence needs some care, and a tree fell across the fence and is resting on the coop, but it didn't do any expensive harm. I doubt it would take $100 to make it completely serviceable.

On the other hand...well off the top of my head:
    1. It's right up against the property line, limiting access and increasing the odds of conflict.
    2. The neighbor on that side has two dogs that seem to like jumping fences...I've seen the neighbor running around after his loose dogs every day or two.
    3. The coop hasn't been used by anything but insects for decades. Well, insects and spiders. It's all fairly weathered and chewed on.