Normal egg membranes or worms?

mrsjones08

Hatching
Jan 17, 2017
Hello,

I've only had hens since mid-May. I am wondering if anyone has advice on how to tell between natural egg structures and possible worms. I haven't found any good info online. My black Australorp had small amounts of blood on her first couple eggs, as well as in her stool for a couple days. I am aware this is normal in new layers, but I have also read it can be a sign of parasites. So I started studying her poop and thought one of the two days it looked as if it might have thin white structures in it.

That led me to start analyzing her eggs when I crack them open and there have been the thinnest white, thread-like structures here and there in the albumen. They basically look like the most delicate cellophane noodle fragments. Some free-range eggs I buy have also had this. Is there any way to tell if this is just a normal structure of the egg, such as that white membrane you sometimes see around the yolk, or worms? I don't see it in my other two layers' eggs and none of the area vets will analyze my eggs as I've read they can easily do, similar to a fecal float test.

My husband doesn't see anything amiss and has been eating these eggs. There has not been blood in the stool or signs of anything odd after those initial couple of days in the earliest laying period other than these continued threads in the albumen. Oh, and her eggs are rather pointy, in case that's of any consequence. Thanks for any guidance!

The blood and other things in the stool is completely unrelated to what is in the eggs. Two different systems.

Blood in the eggs is from ruptured blood vessels in the oviduct. Perfectly fine to eat.

Blood in the stool is usually coccidiosis from the protozoa coccidia overpopulating the digestive tract.

The white strands in the albumen are the chalazae which centers the yolk in the albumen. ALL bird eggs have them.