Normal rooster behavior and which is going to be better?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by SevenChix4Me, Aug 1, 2011.

1. SevenChix4Me

SevenChix4Me Out Of The Brooder

May 4, 2011
    I am new at this and recently added two roosters to my flock of 9 hens. I need help figuring out if one might be behaving better or more naturally then the other. Currently I have three 1 year old white/orange Americaunas hens laying daily, 2 - 3 month old Barred Rock hens, 1 - 3 month old Black Copper Marans hen and 3 - 12 week old black copper marans hens. Both roos are also Marans. The head rooster is a beautiful golden color. He's about 3 months old. I've only seen him climb on one hen so far but he is still immature. I have read comments on normal rooster behavior such as watching for predators, calling girls over for treats etc and I am wondering if my handsome 3 month old roo is a dud or just immature. Instead of keeping an eye out over the girls and the yard he will sun himself, eat and sleep. I have seen him toss around a couple treats until one of the laying hens came over and took it but I have also seen him go after another younger hen that was interested in a piece of red bell pepper that he had. He took it away and chased her. I have also seen him chase other hens away from food. :eek:( He hasn't been aggressive toward us. He is cautious and stays just out of arms reach. He seems to favor the laying Americauna hens and occasionally chases or pulls feathers on the younger hens.