1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Not an emergency-- but concerned

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by RMo2, Dec 29, 2012.

1. RMo2

RMo2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 22, 2012
    Ohio
    Hello! I am new to chickens-- my very first flock is 9 months old. The day before Christmas eve, I went out to the coop and noticed that our Plymouth Partridge Rock had lost all the feathers on her face. I checked her over-- no signs of plucking, scrapes or blood, no lice or mites either. I assumed that she had begun molting, likely because not enough light?? So, we added additional lighting to the coop that night. Since then, she has continued to lose more feathers, but only on the back of her neck, head and cheeks. There are tons of pin feathers coming in.

I have noticed she seems to have fallen down the pecking order a bit, but no one is pecking at her and there is no evidence of trauma. She is more timid than she is normally. She is eating and drinking. Her eyes are bright and her waddle and comb are of normal color.

I am preparing to travel, and want to have peace of mind that she is only molting, since I am leaving her with our house and chicken sitter. What do the experts say? Just want to be certain I am not missing anything.

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

[​IMG]
    I'm not so sure she likes her picture being taken with her feathers out of sorts ;-)

Thank you for any insight!

2. Puddin Fluff

Puddin Fluff Overrun With Chickens

Mar 30, 2012
    River Valley, AR