Not Laying - Getting Worried....

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by FLR, May 7, 2008.

1. FLR

FLR New Egg

Mar 31, 2008
    N. California
    Hi everyone,
    Newbie here and I need help! I have tried searching for an answer and I can't seem to find anything that helps...

Here is my story -
    I purchased 2 chickens from a woman who was losing her home due to the foreclosure crisis (she had a lot of chickens I only took 2). Was told they were 1.5 years old, very healthy and good layers. They have been at our house for 9 day's and I got 1 egg from them. They seem to be acting normal and are eating. I feed lay pellets with water to make it mushy, Lay pellets (dry), oyster shells, Lettuce, gave them a few strawberries, and throw some lay pellets out in the pasture for them to scratch around for. What am I doing wrong??? Could they be sick and not showing signs (or am I missing signs?)? Am I not feeding them correctly? AUGH!! I hate not knowing !!

Any help for this newbie is appreciated

2. Josie

Josie Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 3, 2008
    California
    Welcome!
    Sometimes hens will stop laying when moved to a new home. Wait a bit.

3. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

You don't have to add water to the layer pellets....they'll eat them fine dry and you don't have to worry about them spoiling. Like Josie said a move will upset them and it just takes time for them to start laying again.

4. FLR

FLR New Egg

Mar 31, 2008
    N. California
    Thank You!!! Thank you!!!

I was adding water because that is what the woman was doing - I was trying to give the poor girls some sense of normalcy...

Is there a point where I should become worried?

5. SeaChick

SeaChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 25, 2007
    Southern Maine