Not laying. Golf balls are not working.

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by aarkatin, May 15, 2010.

1. aarkatin

aarkatin New Egg

May 2, 2010
    South Easter PA
    I have 9 White Leghorns, free range, they are 25 weeks old. I've heard that these birds are good at making nests other than in their coop, but there is nothing in our yard. I've put golf balls in, that hasn't worked. I'm new to the chicken thing and when i purchased them they said they would be ready a month ago. I'm going to be selling half because i ready to move some chicks in and the coop will be over crowded. Do I need a rooster? Do i need more space? (we have a 4X5) They are feed layer, isn't that what the need? What do i have to do to make my girls happy?

2. awalters0815

awalters0815 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2010
    Plainfield, IN
    Give them crushed oyster shells as a supplement. I would expand the coop a bit also. Check feathers for mites. IF they are healthy, then they are probably just not mature yet. My guess would be they will start laying in a few days. I definitely think you need a much larger coop though. 4x5 is way too small for 9 ladies.

3. simpsoncj

simpsoncj Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 27, 2009