Not so new to chickens, but it's been awhile...

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by chart, Mar 6, 2013.

1. chart

chart Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 3, 2013
    Chino Valley, AZ.
    I first got chickens over 20 yrs. ago. For some reason 26 was the magic #. It didn't matter if I lost one or gave one away, someone would give me another. It stayed at 26 for more than 6 years. I was a cook by trade and saved scraps. Although they were free to have chicken feed at any time, they barely picked at it. The shells were so hard! My first rooster was given to me as an adult crippled in a box because it had been attacked by a dog. I have no idea what breed he was, but he was huge. He got better although he would take a step with his left, then shake his right leg around before moving on. He turned out to be incredibly sweet at all times. When he got older I knew I wanted his son to take his place. I took 4 eggs from a great R.I.Red I had and incubated them. Everyone thought I was nuts as they probably wouldn't all hatch. I'd say all I wanted was one rooster. And I got him. On Easter morning! The shell was so hard he couldn't get out. I help him and raised him on the kitchen bar until, to my ex-husbands chagrin, he was way bigger than he should have been. I took him outside with me everyday but he was afraid of the grass, the other chickens, etc... He was a definitely a Mama's boy. The transition to the coop is a rather long and funny story.

I have 7 chicks now and want more! This time I've experienced more loss than I ever had and am reluctant to do it right away, but it's killing me as they got new chicks this morning!I am currently raising LF Cochin, Orpington, Sicilian Buttercup. I'm pretty sure I won't be able to resist R.I. Reds and I'd love to find some naked necks.