Not so thrifty chicken

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by krebolo125, Nov 7, 2011.

1. krebolo125

krebolo125 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 25, 2011
    Hello,

I am new to the chicken raising hobby. I have a lot of knowledge of dogs and cats but I am pretty clueless when it comes to the chickens but I do love my new friends. We have 7 Dominque hens and 4 of them are about 4 months old now and one is just not quite right. Her name is Nugget and she has always been my kids favorite. But she has never been quite right to me. Since she was a chick she was always puffing herself up and that was how we could tell her apart form the others and she always had this funny look in her eyes but she walks normal and eats normally etc..... we free range during the day and lock them up in a large coop at night. Anyway, she is now the runt and is pretty skinny compared to the rest but we see her eating plenty? We have been taking her in the house at night lately because it is pretty cold out and she has been shivering. Since she is skinny I thought this was a good idea until she puts a little weight on. But I don't want to alienate her from the flock, is this a bad idea? Any ideas on how to pack some weight on her? She also has a droopy wing???

Any ideas or suggestions would be great, thank you!!

PS her stool is normal.

2. OC closet chicken fan

OC closet chicken fan Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 7, 2011
    so. cal orange county
    i am a newbie too anyways here are my 2 cents...

Has Nugget always been like that? maybe an internal defect that is slowly getting worse? have you thoroughly checked for mites/lice/worms?