Not sure what to do with broody hens?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by KrystalRose, Feb 5, 2015.

1. KrystalRose

KrystalRose Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 28, 2014
    Finley, WA
    I have 3 hens that are wanting to be broody, a buff orp and 2 easter eggers, and I do want to let them hatch some eggs. This is my first time doing this so I am not sure what to do. They have been sitting steady for several days now so I know they are dedicated. One of my girls moved boxes today after sitting for the past 5 days or so on the same eggs, her previous eggs were cold when I discovered this as it is 40-50 degrees outside right now so I am assuming they are no longer viable right?.

I think I have a plan but I want to know what you more experienced chicken owners think, I want the eggs to all hatch on the same day or so, so I am thinking of taking away all their eggs, waiting a couple days so maybe they will start laying again? and then setting them in an isolated broody area so they cannot accidently move to a different nest again. Then collecting eggs and putting them all under them at once so they are all on the same hatching timeline.

I have read that you are supposed to make sure they are dedicated, I have had them be wishy-washy before this time. Then I have read that you are supposed to put a handful of eggs under them all at once so they will hatch at the same time so the mom doesn't abandon the un-hatched eggs.

Any comments, tips, previous experience will be appreciated. I hate taking away the eggs they have been sitting on, and I would love to get chicks from these 3 hens so I hope they will start laying again.

Just an FYI, I have 15 hens total with 1 rooster, so I know some of the eggs wont be fertile. I have 6 normal nesting boxes that they use. I also have a separate small area I use for chick raising that I am planning to use as their brooding area, that is about 2.5x5 feet.

2. TOOCLOSE

TOOCLOSE Chillin' With My Peeps

May 19, 2014