Not what I expected on day four :(

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Pinky Macgyver, Jan 27, 2013.

1. Pinky Macgyver

Pinky Macgyver Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 31, 2012
    Hi, this is my first attempt at incubating and I candled my eggs today, thinking there would be some veins or something as it's day four but there's only a dark area. [​IMG] is that just the yolk? Does that mean the eggs aren't developing? :( :(

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    I don't even bother candling eggs until after 7 days. I just have too much trouble seeing anything until then, but by then I can usually tell what's going on. Usually, but I don't toss any eggs until 14 days just to be sure. I have had surprises.

I advise patience.

Good luck!

3. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    X2 Candle again on day 7 and if there are any clears, candle them again on day 10 to make sure. Some are slow to show development.

4. Pinky Macgyver

Dec 31, 2012
    Thanks. I'm so stressed about/for them. I really hope I haven't killed them. But you're right, I'm probably worrying too early.

5. CluckAcres

CluckAcres Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 20, 2012
    Silver Lake, Indiana
    x3

6. Pinky Macgyver

Dec 31, 2012
    I posted this on my Facebook and someone instantly replied with "not fertile. There would be an air bubble"

7. CluckAcres

CluckAcres Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 20, 2012
    Silver Lake, Indiana