1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Now 3 call ducks pipped on day 26 - what do I do?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by hlyndes, May 26, 2008.

1. hlyndes

hlyndes Out Of The Brooder

May 12, 2008
    H-Town Texas
    I have had such bad luck hatching these guys. I started with 25 eggs - 24 of them were shipped eggs. After candling - I am down to 19...today is day 26 and there are 3 that have slight pips.

[​IMG] Please, oh please, let them hatch!

2. DuckyBoys

DuckyBoys Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2008
    Colorado
    I have some in my bator too - but this is my first time hatching anything so I'm not hoping for a whole lot. I think pipping on day 26 is good isn't it? Don't they hatch slightly early?

I'll cross my fingers for ya! Hang in there - almost done!

[​IMG]

3. BeckyBird

BeckyBird Chillin' With My Peeps

May 11, 2008
    For me, call ducks are very tough to hatch. I always help them out, which some people think is wrong. But they always turn out fine. If you want to help them, it is up to you and nobody else.

To help a call duck hatch, it is good to wait for them to pip on their own. Since yours have pipped through the shell, it means they have fresh air, and should not die. Leave them for another day, which would be day 27. If they haven't done anything after a day, it is time to help. Just take a needle, and chip away a small part of the shell. If you see blood, stop and wait a few more hours.
    Basically, you will chip away the top of the egg, just like the duckling would do. Once you've gotten the top off, look inside near the babie's belly. If you see yolk, you need to put the top of the shell back on and tape it. The baby will need to absorb the yolk before he is ready to get out of the egg.