now they're all hen pecked? PICS

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Dingo, Nov 6, 2011.

1. Dingo

Dingo Chillin' With My Peeps

So after I posted about my roudy males they settled down. Well last night I was watching them and my roux dilute hen was runnign around chasing after all the others, she especially likes to chase the two rosetta pieds. They've taken to hiding in their cardboard box to get away from her. I can't cull her or remove her from the colony because I think at most I have 3 hens (3:3 ratio at best). Anyone else have really pushy hens?
    She's been resource guarding, even keeping the others away from the heat lamp when it's on at night. Am I wrong about the sex?
    [​IMG]

2. The Critter Place

The Critter Place Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 13, 2011
    Tucson, Az.
    How old is this bird?

I'm just learning myself, but it looks like a young roo to me.

3. Chinchilla2

Chinchilla2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 9, 2011
    Red Rock
    Came across a study the other day done back in 2004 or 2009 (can't remember which) that looked at aggressive behavior in Coturnix after a shakeup of the living quarters. The dominate hen will play hoarder and attack with more frequency when new birds are added to her area or when placed into a new area with established birds. The study said that the behavior backed off to normal after a 24 hour period of time. If you just got through shuffling these around, that may be the problem. Give her a day or two and if she doesn't settle down, you may need to pull her and a roo out to a temp pen or something.

4. Dingo

Dingo Chillin' With My Peeps

They're all 4 weeks old now. I didn't move them at all, they settled their differences on their own until last night when this one started up.
    I figured it was a hen cause the pharaoh already had a nice chestnut breast on him and I haven't seen the roux dilute crowing.

5. Eyeheartquail

Eyeheartquail Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 7, 2011