Now you're clucking!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by AzMamaHen, Jan 2, 2015.

1. AzMamaHen

AzMamaHen New Egg

Jan 2, 2015
    Hello Everyone!

I am very new to chickens. I have never had my own chicken, my husband is pretty much a city-slicker.
    I grew up in the country, I worked on a cattle farm for three full years with my father and his friends. My great-grandmother never learned how to drive or had a 9-5 kind of job. My great-grandfather worked while she raised their 4 children. They had a huge piece of land where they had a large garden, bees for honey, chickens, goats, and so forth. After my great-grandfather passed my family helped GG on her "farm". My sister and I helped in the garden and with the chickens.
    It wasn't the loveliest experience, and so I never had much desire to have our own chickens until recently.
    The home we live in is yardless, my kids have not got to experience the same things I have and it makes me sad. My two youngest LOVE farm animals on tv. My brother lives in the country and has the most gorgeous and happy chickens I have ever seen, producing more eggs than he knows what to do with. My sons love going to uncle's to play with the chickens!

We will be moving back to the country in two months, and have decided to start a garden, but I want to kick it up a notch, I want chickens. I thought Easter chicks would be cute for the children. But once again I wanted to kick it up a notch!
    Why not teach my children a little further and hatch our own?!

I have been researching, reading, talking with, and now joining a group, to learn everything I can to hatch and raise the happiest, healthiest chickens we can!

I am open to all "FYI", recommendations on incubators, materials to make coops/runs, what to feed our chickens, where to get hatch-able eggs, even some breeds you feel are best.