Odd Laying Habits for NA Pintail

Discussion in 'Ornamental Fowl (Swans, etc.)' started by Natermotor, Jun 6, 2011.

1. Natermotor

Natermotor Out Of The Brooder

Apr 15, 2010
    Cecil County,MD
    Well, this is my first year with my pintails. All is going well, both are active and healthy. I was excited to finally see the female making a nest. I was also happy to see an egg in that nest. What I was not so happy about was that there was another egg, fifteen feet away mind you, sitting in the open next to a rock. She procceded to sit on her nest for about 4 hours, covered the one egg that was in her nest with straw, and left. She didn't come back to the nest. The eggs both got rained on. Both are dead. [​IMG]

Now here is my question: She seemed to start on making another nest under cover of rain, but looks like she lost heart and stopped. Will she lay more eggs this year and actually sit on them? Should I put in a wood duck box just to see if she will lay in it?

Thanks in advance,

Nate

Last edited: Jun 7, 2011
  2. Speceider

Speceider Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 4, 2011
    Don't know if she will lay again, it's getting late for northern pins. If this is your first year, I am assuming that they are first year birds. yearlings will often make a half-hearted nesting attempt and not follow-through. It's a good sign for next year.

Clint

3. Natermotor

Apr 15, 2010
    Cecil County,MD
    Yup, they are first year birds.

I'm happy that they will at least lay next year.

Bummer that she won't lay anymore this year though, I'll keep an eye out just in case and take them away if she does.

4. Natermotor

Apr 15, 2010
    Cecil County,MD
    She layed another egg.

5. Boggy Bottom Bantams

Boggy Bottom Bantams Overrun With Chickens

Mar 9, 2008
    Hahira, GA