1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

oh no! possible roo??

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by kbrunnergirl, Aug 21, 2013.

1. kbrunnergirl

kbrunnergirl Out Of The Brooder

Aug 21, 2013
    Hello! I am new to chickens and to this website, and am wondering if I may have a little roo on my hands. I have a mixed flock from a mail order that should be all pullets. The little buff orpington seems to be feathering much more slowly than the others (I also have an EE, polish, d'uccle, and a cuckoo maran), although I don't have another BO to compare to. This picture is at 3 1/2 weeks old. There is no sign of red on the comb, and no wattles to speak of. Any help would be much appreciated!

[​IMG]

2. kbrunnergirl

Aug 21, 2013
    Here are some more pics, these are from today, and we are at 4 1/2 weeks. Sorry about the blur, my poor boyfriend is being forced to take the pics and text them to me while I'm posting from work - he's getting a little grumpy with me!
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

3. Percheron chick

Percheron chick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2013
    Boulder, Colorado
    I had to chuckle about the Weber grill box in the background. It's a sign!

It's still early but it's body shape and sturdy legs would make me keep an eye on it. You might get confirmation in as little as a week or 2.

4. kbrunnergirl

Aug 21, 2013
    Hahaha Percheron chick, the Weber grill is the biggest box we could find for them, hopefully not an omen! What kinds of things might I see in another few weeks for confirmation? Increasing comb size? This chick is definitely not aggressive or even brave at all, probably the biggest baby of the flock - the last one to try something new and the flightiest when being held or moved.

5. canesisters

canesisters Chillin' With My Peeps