oh what to do

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by birdbrain2, Dec 25, 2008.

1. birdbrain2

birdbrain2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 25, 2008
    belleville, IL.
    newbie here,
    here is my first problem. i am wanting about 5-6 egglayers. can't have a roo. i know from what i have read sexing baby chicks is not very accurate. when i go to get chicks should i buy like 10 and cull any roo's or extra's. i don't like that option but i think i would have a tough time finding new homes. i was wanting rir's and barred rocks, i like the these birds from what i have read about them. i know i could go with sex links, but i am not crazy about their looks, black or red. seem kinda plain, but would consider them if they could pop out more eggs than my first choice. i also heard they can be a little aggressive towards each other (pecking order) so that turns me off too.

plus i have only know one place to get them, at my local "rural king", and i don't know what types they will carry. mail order wouldn't work cause i would need a min order of 15-25 and i don't want that much.

2. crtrlovr

crtrlovr Still chillin' with my peeps

I've heard other users mention My Pet Chicken because you can order a small number of chicks like 3, 4, 5... , and I think they're supposed to be already sexed. You might try them...

ETA, and btw, welcome to byc!

Last edited: Dec 25, 2008
  3. babyboy1_mom

babyboy1_mom Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2008
    Louisiana
    [​IMG]

Does the "rural king" only carry straight run chicks? My local feed store sells straight run and just pullets. Of course, there are mix ups sometines and you "may" end up with a cockeral that was supposed to be a pullet.

I like both the RIRs and the BRs. They are calm and are good layers.