Ohio couple wanting to start raising chickens

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Bokros, Aug 11, 2014.

1. Bokros

Bokros Out Of The Brooder

Aug 11, 2014
    Hello all! I am new to the discussion board but have read several entries already. My husband and I are looking to start raising chickens for eggs and meat in Central/NW Ohio. Does anyone have any suggestions on good breeds for our area? It gets very cold in the winter and very hot during the summer.
    We have about 12 acres and want to build a chicken house with multiple runs. Anyone around our area have any thoughts?

Thanks in advance!

2. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana