OK, I am totally new to having chickens, and I have started with 3 hens and 1 rooster, but I think I

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by missnu01, Nov 22, 2012.

1. missnu01

missnu01 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 16, 2012
    So can I put the hen and chicks with the other chickens, they are in a ridiculously large space, or should I keep the hen and chicks separate. Should I take the chicks from the hen and put them in a brooder? I am lost. Or should I just stick with getting more adult chickens? And leave the chicks for when and if my own chickens and rooster make some of their own? I really want the hen and chicks not only to get the numbers up, but also because then I will know I have a hen that might go broody again in the future. Also, the rooster we got is very old and very very calm, as are all the chickens except the youngest hen, she is flighty, but also the lowest in the pecking order. Anyway some advice would be great before I do something dumb and end up hurting a hen and her chicks.

2. nothingbutbirds

nothingbutbirds Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 9, 2012
    Pennsylvania
    i would keep them separated from each other so you can be sure no one gets hurt
    plus since the chicks cant eat layer food because they can get cancer and kidney and liver failure from it and there is not much of a way to give them chick food without them eating layer food

1 person likes this.
  3. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    Okay, for starters - quarantine is the best policy when bringing in new birds. You don't want the new mama to infect your current flock; even if she doesn't appear ill at the present time.