OK I have new questions - candling questions please help

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Crazy4Chicks, Feb 24, 2008.

1. Crazy4Chicks

Crazy4Chicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 20, 2007
    Glendale, AZ
    when I left at 1:00 to run some errands the temps were reading 99.3 and when I got home at 3:30 the temps were reading 112 - I am only on day 3 - Did I kill my babies???? I have 5 duck eggs in there - this is my first time doing a hatch- I was so worried something like would happen.
    I have a water wiggler with the probe in it - does that mean I cooked my babies [​IMG]
    I feel sick to my stomach right now

Julie

Last edited: Feb 29, 2008
  2. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

Does the water wiggler read 112?

3. Crazy4Chicks

Nov 20, 2007
    Glendale, AZ
    well I have the aucrite with a probe and the probe end is in the water wiggler - and it was reading 112

right now it is reading 104

I think they maybe be goners [​IMG]

Julie

4. tazcat70

tazcat70 I must be crazy!

Possibly, but I would not give it up yet. Wait a few more days, then candle and then you can know for sure.

Good luck

5. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

If the wiggler reads that high it's been high for awhile. I agree that I'd wait for a few days until you can candle before you toss them.

6. Crazy4Chicks

Nov 20, 2007
    Glendale, AZ
    DH wants to know if we opened up one egg - could we tell if the rest are going to be alright?
    I have 5 eggs in there and these are from my own ducks.

Julie

7. tazcat70

I don't think so, not on day 3. If you were farther along you would see a heart beating, but then you could just candle and see that.

8. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

I agree with Tazcat......I'd just wait and candle in 4 days.

9. Crazy4Chicks

Nov 20, 2007
    Glendale, AZ
    thank you both - when I came home and saw the temps that high I freaked out - thinking my god I cooked my babies. I was so scaried to hatch anything because of things like this.