1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Ok Im a whimp Help Plz

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Up2Early, May 12, 2009.

1. Up2Early

Up2Early Out Of The Brooder

Apr 25, 2009
    Lenoir N.C.
    Getting the coop ready to put my 6 and a half week chicks in. This is my first time and I find myself worrying about my Babies through the night. I have no way of enclosing them in my coop. They are in an enclosed run with a coop. My husband will be home from Baghdad in a few weeks and he could make them a door. Also they are not going to have a light on at night until my husband comes home. Am I be an over protective hen?[​IMG] I can see me sleeping outside with a flashlight all night.
    Thanks!

2. Kim_NC

Kim_NC Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 27, 2009
    Mt Airy, NC
    Can you plug in an outdoor extension cord to run a light out there? If not, I wouldn't worry too much about light. Some darkness every night is better anyway for their sleep. (We actually run our coop lights on a timer that give the flocks 8 hrs darkness per night.)

If you can't provide light...
    You could start by shutting off the indoor light 3-4 hours per night, then gradually add more 'lights off' time before you move them outside to the coop.

How big is the coop opening into the run? And how secure is the run from predators?
    If the run is only chicken wire, that won't be sufficient keeping predators out. (It'll just keep the chickens in.)

If the opening is small enough, I would try at least covering it with hardware cloth (the heavy, 1/4" wire) to keep predators out. You could fasten one side or a bottom corner where you could open it each morning to let them out in the run, then close again in the evenings.