ok is this a pea comb?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Loretta212, Dec 5, 2011.

1. Loretta212

Loretta212 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 27, 2011
    Meriden ct
    haha yes ok seems like a dumb question but hey im new at this. this is a roo (i believe ) but i have to hens with the same looking comb would this be a pea comb on EEs and does that mean ill get blue/green eggs?
    [​IMG]

2. Chris09

Chris09 Circle (M) Ranch

Jun 1, 2009
    Ohio
    Looks like a Pea Comb to me. He is also a rooster so no Blue Eggs from him. [​IMG]

Chris

Last edited: Dec 5, 2011
  3. ramirezframing

ramirezframing Overrun With Chickens

Mar 2, 2011
    Knee Deep
    Quote:x2

4. Loretta212

Loretta212 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 27, 2011
    Meriden ct
    Quote:LOL i know he is a rooster but the hens i have should they lay green/blue eggs?

5. stephanie1992

stephanie1992 Chillin' With My Peeps

not always. i have hens with pea combs and they lay brown eggs onlyy but theres always a chance.

6. acy0029

acy0029 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2011
    Tucson
    Maybe, I'm reading the OP wrong but, are your hens EE's? Because comb type has nothing to do with egg color.

7. Chris09

Chris09 Circle (M) Ranch

Jun 1, 2009
    Ohio
    Quote:LOL i know he is a rooster but the hens i have should they lay green/blue eggs?

I am finding that comb type on a EE has nothing to do with egg color.
    I have Single Comb "EE's" that lay Blue and Green eggs just the same as I had Pea Comb EE's that lay Blue, Green, Olive, Brown, White and every shade between.

Unless you know what the cross was to create them and the egg color egg they hatched from it is going to be real hard to tell what color egg the hens will lay.

Chris

8. stormylady

stormylady Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 27, 2008
    Illinois

I am finding that comb type on a EE has nothing to do with egg color.