Ok, Tell me about your Boys!

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Lanissa86, Jul 25, 2008.

1. Lanissa86

Lanissa86 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 26, 2008
    San Antonio, TX
    Well, let me tell you what I am looking for first... I am still new to chickens, having gotten my first chicks around Easter. A lot of you know the story of my Boy booger. Well I soon learned how leghorn are (nonstop crowing, Spastic, moody). My BIG question is I would still like a Rooster within the city, which breed have you found crows the least? My neighbors didn't mind, it was just the crowing ALL DAY AND NIGHT that got to them, they say it wouldn't be so bad if he crowed only a few times a day or whatever. So Please tell me ALL about your boys, Breed, Age, how much do they crow? If you had to scale their crow from 1-10 10 being loudest, exactly how loud is your Rooster? Anything will Help, Thanks!

2. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    My light brahma roo, Zeus, has been crowing since he was like 9 or ten weeks old. He doesn't crow non-stop, but he does crow throughout the day. I can hear it inside the house, but don't find it annoying. I call him my watch roo, since he will start crowing whenever he hears someone drive up. He's also the roo I had some problems with before, totally my fault for spoiling him. He became very jealous of me handling the other chickens and was turning into a bully. I gave him a few attitude adjustments and he's fine now. It was just a matter of reminding him that I'm the top roo around here.