OK-Trying this again! Please HELP is Kentucky a hen or a roo???

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by H2Momma, Jul 27, 2011.

1. H2Momma

H2Momma Out Of The Brooder

Howdy!

Please help! I bought four 5 week old hens from a reputible breeder and was told they were all hens. Well, one of my hens has started crowing and is now trying to mount my other girls :-( My beloved Kentucky has me concerned that she might be a he. She is a Light Sussex about 4 months old now and does not have spurs. I am currently unable to download pics, cause I'm a newbie on the site. I've created a link that I'm hoping will show her in all her glory. PLEASE, click the link and tell me my baby girl is really a girl!!!

http://s169.photobucket.com/albums/u212/garrett09_2007/Kentucky 2011/

Thanks!
    Cathy

2. HEChicken

HEChicken Overrun With Chickens

Aug 12, 2009
    BuCo, KS
    My Coop
    Oh dear. Sorry but Kentucky does appear to be a boy....

3. howfunkyisurchicken

howfunkyisurchicken Overrun With Chickens

Apr 11, 2011
    Tn
    Boy [​IMG]

4. H2Momma

NOOOOOOO.......... Well, who wants a chicken dinner tonight? Baahaahaa!!!!

5. ranchhand

ranchhand Rest in Peace 1956-2011

Aug 25, 2008
    SC
    Definitely a handsome cockeral. No way to keep him or swap back to the breeder?

6. H2Momma

I just left the breeder a message....... there is absolutely no way I could ever, ever eat one of my babies! But so much for the little crown she was gonna wear and painting her toes! Now here's a question, if I return my 2 roos, should I get older hens? Younger hens? Will they have to seperated? Can I just throw them all together right away? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, since I am now an addict!

Cathy

7. Pinky

Pinky Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 15, 2008
    South GA
    I would try to get some about the same age as you hens if possible. I would also separate them to begin with. Let them get use to each other before putting them together.

8. H2Momma